49 PA Members Attest To Select Rajendra Rai As New CM


By Birat Anupam

Itahari, Nov 1: As the second Chief Minister (CM) of Province 1 Bhim Acharya resigned following only 68 days in office, a coalition of opposition parties in Province 1 have collected signatures of 49 Provincial Assembly (PA) members to elect the next Chief Minister of the Province on Monday afternoon.

It may be noted that 47 signatures are enough for the election of the Chief Minister in the 92-member Provincial Assembly of Province 1.

A total of 49 PA members of the Nepali Congress, CPN (Maoist Center), CPN (Unified Socialist), People’s Socialist Party and Federal Democratic Forum have submitted their signatures to the Province Chief Somnath Adhikari ‘Pyasi’. Among the signatories are 21 PA members of Nepali Congress, 14 of CPN (Maoist Center), 10 of CPN (Unified Socialist), three of People’s Socialist Party and one PA member from Federal Democratic Forum.

After the resignation of CM Acharya, Province 1 Chief Pyasi has set a deadline until 1:00 pm Tuesday to submit claims to the post of the new Chief Minister.

If everything goes as planned, Rajendra Rai is likely to become the new CM of Province no. 1 on Tuesday. Rai is the Parliamentary Party leader of CPN (Unified Socialist), the third-largest party of the five-party coalition.

Rai was elected PA member from Bhojpur. He had switched to CPN (Unified Socialist) from CPN (UML) after the party was officially registered at the Election Commission on 25 August 2021. The CPN (US) was formed under the leadership of former Prime Minister Madhav Kumar Nepal, after breaking away from the CPN-UML.

Next Post

Province 1 CM Rai Takes Oath Of Office, Forms 6-Member Cabinet

Tue Nov 2 , 2021
Tweet By Gokul Parajuli, Biratnagar, Nov. 2: Newly appointed Chief […]

Health Tips