12 Lawmakers In Bagmati Provincial Assembly Verify For CPN (Unified Socialist)

By Ram Mani Dahal

Hetauda, Aug. 31: Some eleven lawmakers of the Bagmati Provincial Assembly have verified themselves for the newly formed CPN (Unified Socialist), deserting the CPN (UML), which has rendered the UML-led provincial government to a minority one.

The provincial assembly members who switched to CPN (Unified Socialist) are Rajendra Pande, Madhav Paudel, Rajendra Man Shrestha, Basanta Prasad Manandhar, Laxman Lamsal, Rama Aale Magar, Indra Maya Gurung, Munu Sigdel, Kusum Kumar Karki, Bashundhara Humagain, and Parvati Silwal.

They reached the provincial office of the Election Commission to verify their names and signature for the new party, days before the deadline set by the Commission for the UML lawmakers in the provinces to switch to the Unified Socialist.

The CPN (Unified Socialist) is a splinter party from the UML formed as per the recently issued ordinance related to political parties.

Earlier, on the very day when the CPN (Unified Socialist) was registered at EC, Krishna Prasad Khanal, a lawmaker of Bagamati province from the UML, had verified for the new party although he was inducted in the provincial government led by Chief Minister Ashta Laxmi Shakya.

With today’s 11 lawmakers switching their allegiance to the new party, a total number of lawmakers for the Unified Socialist has reached 12. The UML had a total of 55 lawmakers in the provincial assembly, which has now become 43.

– TRN Online

Next Post

China thanks Nepal for support on COVID-19 origin controversy

Tue Aug 31 , 2021
Tweet KATHMANDU, August 31: China has expressed its gratitude to […]

Health Tips