Pokharel Re-appointed As Lumbini Chief Minister, A UML Lawmaker Resigns

BUTWAL, May 2: Shankar Pokharel has been re-appointed as the chief minister of Lumbini Province.

Governor of the province, Dharmanath Yadav appointed him on Sunday afternoon, within hours of his resignation from the post of chief minister.

Issuing a statement, the Office of Province Chief said that Pokharel, the parliamentary party leader of CPN-UML in the province, was appointed as the CM as per Article 168 (1) of Constitution of Nepal. “Earlier, he [Pokharel] also submitted signatures of majority of assembly members for the purpose of new government formation under his leadership,” the statement reads.

Pokharel, on Sunday morning, resigned from the post of chief minister as a no-confidence motion registered against him was scheduled to be discussed at a special session of the provincial assembly at 1 PM earlier today.

Meanwhile, following the re-appointment of Shankar Pokharel as the chief minister of Lumbini Province, a lawmaker of the ruling CPN-UML has resigned from his post while two others have joined the opposition party.

Lawmaker Durga Narayan Pandey resigned from his post and the party Sunday afternoon. Likewise, lawmakers Dharma Bahadur Shreewastav and Ajay Bahadur Shahi have joined the opposition party.

Likewise, Bimala Khatri, a province assembly member also joined the CPN (Moist Center) earlier this afternoon.

– Republica

Next Post

Cabinet Recommends To Summon House Session On May 12, PM Oli To Take Vote Of Confidence On Same Day

Sun May 2 , 2021
Tweet KATHMANDU, May 2: The Cabinet has recommended to President […]

Health Tips